Member Credit Request
Member Credit Request Form
An individual attorney can request California MCLE credit for attendance at an education activity that is not already approved for California MCLE credit or for California Legal Specialization credit.
Before submitting the Member Credit Request form, check to make sure that the activity is not already approved for credit and that it is eligible to be approved for credit. Go to:
- Education Approval to learn how education activities are approved for California MCLE credit.
- Approved Jurisdictions if you attended the education activity while you were outside California, as the activity may already be approved for MCLE credit.
- NOTE: If you are a judge seeking MCLE credit for an activity given by the Center for Judicial Education and Research (CJER), a division of the Administrative Office of the Courts (AOC), you do not need to submit the Member Credit Form. The CJER is an approved Provider. Contact the CJER for MCLE credit information.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
How much is the processing fee?
The non-refundable processing fee is $25 per application.
How long will it take to process my application?
Applications are processed in the order received. Once a complete application is received by the Office of Certification, it takes 4-6 weeks to process. If your application is incomplete, or the education activity does not qualify for credit, the application will be returned with an explanation of further information required. Applicants are notified by U.S. mail of the final status of a complete application.
What happens if The State Bar approves a Member Credit Request?
If the member credit request is approved, you will be sent a Notification of Approval Letter, which will include the number of credit hours granted for individual attendance at the activity.
How much credit can I claim if I taught an education activity?
If you submit a Member Credit Request to get approval for an education activity that you taught, be aware that the Notification of Approval Letter will list the number of credit hours for attending, not for teaching the activity. To calculate credit for teaching go to Education Options.
May I claim credit for attending a cross-professional education activity?
Yes, if the activity is approved and enhances your legal skills or ability and is directly relevant to the practice of law. (For example, a tax attorney may be interested in attending a program for tax accountants.) If the provider of the program has not sought approval, you must request credit by submitting a Member Credit Request.
May I claim credit for teaching groups other than lawyers?
No - the exception is teaching law students in a law school class. [Rule 2.82]
[Many states also allow attorneys to seek credit, on an ad hoc basis, for activities that are not covered in their rules. Rule 2.85 will not allow automatic credit for activities approved by other states on an ad hoc basis. Members may, however, seek individual activity approval for these activities by submitting a Member Credit Request.]